Running Pythia8 with ROOT

Dear all, I’m trying to use Pythia8 from inside root. I’m not very experienced so I’m having some problems. The versions I’m using are:
ROOT 5.34/18
Pythia 8185
Fedora 20

I’ll list what I’ve done so far:
I’ve installed Pythia enabling shared libraries then ran these commands:

export PYTHIA8=$HOME/workspace/pythia8185 export PYTHIA8DATA=$PYTHIA8/xmldoc

I’ve configured ROOT while enabling pythia8:

I’ve checked during configuration that it reads the pythia8 files. It was correct. Then I ran 'make’
Then:

Then I’ve run ‘root’ and it runs correctly.
I tried: .x $ROOTSYS/tutorials/pythia/pythia8.C
and it produces an output file by the name ‘Pythia8 test example’, where the charts are there but empty (no lines drawn) and it gives me the following warning:

[quote] ------- PYTHIA Error and Warning Messages Statistics ----------------------------------------------------------
| |
| times message |
| |
| 1 Abort from Pythia::init: some user settings did not make sense |
| 100 Abort from Pythia::next: not properly initialized so cannot generate events |
| |
------- End PYTHIA Error and Warning Messages Statistics ------------------------------------------------------
[/quote]

I just posted this part in case it would help identifying the main problem, which is, when I try to run the pythia example files inside root using:

I get: Error: cannot open file "Pythia8/Pythia.h" /home/omar/workspace/pythia8185/examples/main01.cc:10: *** Interpreter error recovered ***
which I understand means that ROOT cannot use the include directory from Pythia, although it was specified.

I tried moving the Pythia libraries to /usr/include, which bypassed this error, but ran into many more errors as it seems Pythia is not properly defined inside ROOT. so I reversed that move and hoping to correctly configure Pythia with ROOT.

I’m currently stuck as to what try next so any help would be highly appreciated.

Regards

Hi,