Root Editor GetEntry Error and Total Energy Deposited

Hi all,

Before I get into this, I’m a complete novice with Root so I’d appreciate layman’s terms if possible.

First off, I’m trying to write a macro in the TBrowser to export specific branches of a tree but I keep getting an error when compiling it. Here’s the macro,

#include <iostream>
#include "TFile.h"
#include "TTree.h"
#include <fstream>
using namespace std;

void RootToTxt(){
 TFile *f=new TFile("NeutronTestStand.root");
 TTree *tr=(TTree*)f->Get("tree");
 float a,b,c;
 tr->SetBranchAddress("E_prim",&a);
 tr->SetBranchAddress("SD_Edep",&b);
 tr->SetBranchAddress("TD_Edep",&c);
 ofstream *my;
 my->open ("example.txt");
 *my << "E_prim SD_Edep TD_Edep\n";
 for (int i=0;i<tr->GetEntries();i++){
  // loop over the tree
  tr->GetEntry(i);             //This line gives me the error
  cout << a << " " << b << " " << c << endl;
  *my << a << " " << b << " " << c<<"\n";
 }
 my->close();
}

From the errors it seems that the compiler is reading the GetEntry line as,

tr->Get);try(i);

Is there any known reason for this text change or a way I can work around it? The text displays properly in the browser.

P.S. Is there a way to directly take my histogram of energy deposited values and add them all together to get a total energy deposited in all of my detectors? If this has a simple answer then the above question can be ignored.

I cannot immediately see what’s wrong with your example.

Could you take a look in one of the existing tutorials, for instance here.

I would imagine that inadvertently some special character were introduced in the source file … this characters must be such that your editor is rendering is correctly but the compiler/interpreter can not. (For example there could some ‘backspace’ like characters).

Cheers,
Philippe.