ROOT configuration on Raspberry Pi 3 B+

Hello, I’m having problems with configuring ROOT 5.32.04 on Raspberry Pi 3B+. I know this isn’t a supported platform, but I’ve read somewhere on CERN forums that some people managed to do it with this old version of ROOT. Please bear in mind that I am a linux newbie.

I managed to do ‘./configure’ inside the root folder. Now that I try to do ‘make’ I get this:

pi@raspberrypi:~/root/root $ make
gcc -Wall -fsigned-char -fPIC -Iinclude -pthread -DINCLUDEDIR="/usr/include" -DOBJSUFFIX=".o" -o build/rmkdepend/main.o -c /home/pi/root/root/build/rmkdepend/main.c
/home/pi/root/root/build/rmkdepend/main.c:64:12: error: conflicting types for ‘fchmod’
extern int fchmod(int, int);
^
In file included from /home/pi/root/root/build/rmkdepend/def.h:42:0,
from /home/pi/root/root/build/rmkdepend/main.c:30:
/usr/include/arm-linux-gnueabihf/sys/stat.h:297:12: note: previous declaration of ‘fchmod’ was here
extern int fchmod (int __fd, __mode_t __mode) __THROW;
^
bin/rmkdepend -R -fcint/cint/src/g__cfunc.d -Y -w 1000 – -Wall -fsigned-char -fPIC -Iinclude -DG__REGEXP -DG__UNIX -DG__SHAREDLIB -DG__OSFDLL -DG__ROOT -DG__REDIRECTIO -DG__HAVE_CONFIG -DG__NOMAKEINFO -DG__CINTBODY -I/home/pi/root/root/cint/cint/inc -I/home/pi/root/root/cint/cint/src -I/home/pi/root/root/cint/cint/src/dict -pthread -I. – /home/pi/root/root/cint/cint/src/g__cfunc.c
make: bin/rmkdepend: Command not found
Makefile:592: recipe for target ‘cint/cint/src/g__cfunc.o’ failed
make: *** [cint/cint/src/g__cfunc.o] Error 127

Raspberry and system specs:

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ uname -a
Linux raspberrypi 4.9.35-v7+ #1014 SMP Fri Jun 30 14:47:43 BST 2017 armv7l GNU/Linux

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ cat /etc/os-release
PRETTY_NAME=“Raspbian GNU/Linux 8 (jessie)”
NAME=“Raspbian GNU/Linux”
VERSION_ID=“8”
VERSION=“8 (jessie)”
ID=raspbian
ID_LIKE=debian

Any insight greatly appreciated.

Hum… I am not sure you want to compile ROOT directly on the raspi. This will, literally, take ages/eons.