ROOT Conditional branch selection

I have a ROOT file. I can read the tree and select the data inside a specific branch of it, called for instance “branch_name_1”. Now, I want to select the data on this branch with a specific condition on another branch. Let me provide an example. I want all entries of the “branch_name_1” with the condition that the value of “branch_name_2” is bigger than 10. How can I do this?

You should try to use TDataFrame

1 Like

Thank you very much bellenot. Providing I’m new to ROOT, could you provide more details?

I think @eguiraud or @Danilo are the best candidates to give more details :slight_smile:

Hi,

I believe the guide is rather complete, you should have a look to it and to the TDataFrame tutorials (https://root.cern/doc/master/group__tutorial__tdataframe.html).

In your case, assuming that

• The tree is called myTree and the file myFIle.root
  • branch_name_1 and branch_name_1 are two doubles
  • you want to make an histogram of the values in branch_name_1
    you can do:
ROOT::Experimental::TDataFrame d("myTree","myFile.root");
auto h = d.Filter("branch_name_2 > 3.").Histo1D("branch_name_1");
h->Draw();

In case you want all values of branch_name_1 in a vector for every entry passing the filter on branch_name_2 you should use the Take action instead of Histo1D (see https://root.cern/doc/master/classROOT_1_1Experimental_1_1TDF_1_1TInterface.html#a9f38cc47a9d03fc95ed9c550c8664612).

Cheers,
D

2 Likes

Hi,

Thank you very much @Danilo. I just ran the code you wrote and I got this error:

IncrementalExecutor::executeFunction: symbol ‘_ZN4ROOT6Detail3TDF12TLoopManager3RunEv’ unresolved while linking [cling interface function]!
You are probably missing the definition of ROOT::Detail::TDF::TLoopManager::Run()
Maybe you need to load the corresponding shared library?

I use ROOT 6.10/00. I don’t get what the problem is. I would be very much thankful if I could get the point of the problem.

Cheers

Hi,