Root binary for Mac OS X 10.4 PPC

Newbie here (as far as Root is concerned).

I am trying to install the root binary on my quad G5 Power Mac running 10.4.11 (last version of Tiger). The version I want to use is Production Version 5.26.

So I d/l’d the relevant tarball and expanded everything into a newly created directory; let’s call it ~/prog/Root.

1st problem: trying to run root (which is in root/bin) it asks for root.exe in root/bin/bin (note the double /bin). That directory does not exist (i.e. was not created during installation). root.exe does exist in root/bin.

Ok, easy fix: makedir bin in bin and copy root.exe over.

Now I get this error:
rootx xpm error: XpmOpenFailed
dyld: Library not loaded: /Users/bellenot/ROOT/osx104_ppc_gcc401/root/lib/libCore.dylib

The same error happens when I call root with -config.

So, why the heck is it looking for a user bellenot?? That does not exist on my system (and it will not, either).

The library in question does exist in root/lib in my installation, but how can I fix the path it searches?

I may be doing something more fundamentally wrong here (like: do I have to install into /user or into / ??)… any help is appreciated.

Uli

Hi,

You have to set the ROOTSYS environment variable pointing to the location where you installed ROOT, add $ROOTSYS/lib to LD_LIBRARY_PATH and DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH, and add $ROOTSYS/bin to your $PATH

Cheers, Bertrand.

Ah, so there’s where Bellenot comes from. Nice to meet you.

Anyway, your hints helped a lot, thanks.

However, it takes a really long time to start up. Looking at the output of root -config I see loads of references to /afs/cern.ch/… (basically everything that refers to some location or directory), which would explain the delay (I am running this on machine located at SLAC).

Anything else I have to set to change these?

Uli

Hi Uli,

Nice to meet you too :slight_smile: