Retrieving TVector3 from a Tree

ROOT Version: 6.28/04
Platform: linux x86 64
Compiler: gcc

Hi, as I understand it, the following is how I can create a new root file which has a tree that contains a TVector3 in it.

void write(){

TFile * f = new TFile("out.root","RECREATE");
  TTree * t = new TTree("my_tree", "my_tree_title");
  TVector3 myVec(1,2,3);

t->Branch("my_branch", &myVec);

t->Fill();

f->Write();
  f->Close();

}

And to retrieve the tree, we can do something like

void read(){

TFile *inFile = TFile::Open("out.root");
  TTree *inTree = (TTree*) inFile->Get("my_tree");
  TVector3*inVec_ptr=nullptr;

inTree->SetBranchAddress("my_branch",&inVec_ptr);
  inTree->GetEntry(0);

std::cout<< inVec_ptr->X() << " " << inVec_ptr->Y() << " " << inVec_ptr->Z() << std::endl;

}

However, I am not sure why inVec_ptr above has to be a pointer though (sorry I am pretty new to C++ and ROOT). As I understand it, to retrieve a double, say, one would write

double my_variable;
inTree->SetBranchAddress("my_variable_name", &my_variable);

which in this case my_variable is not a pointer.

Is it because TVector3 is a larger “thing” than something like a double?

I am also not sure why the pointer inVec_ptr has to be initialized to a nullptr.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Hello,

Welcome to the ROOT community!

Thanks for the interesting question. The modern and preferred way to treat columnar datasets, i.e. TTrees, is through RDataFrame. It allows you to treat datasets, without bothering with the details, in a high level but yet very performant way.

Below, you find an example code that uses RDataFrame starting from the rootfile you can create with your write function above:

void read(){
  auto df = ROOT::RDataFrame("my_tree", "out.root");
  auto myPrintFcn = [](const TVector3& v){std::cout<< v.X() << " " << v.Y() << " " << v.Z() << std::endl;};
  df.Foreach(myPrintFcn, {"my_branch"});
  // outputs 1 2 3 
}

I hope this is helpful!

Cheers,
Danilo

1 Like