Retrieving histograms from objects

Hi,

I am an undergraduate student trying to display histograms by opening a root file in which an analysis object is stored. This object contains the chains and their associated histograms. In ROOT I do:

root [0] TFile f("/afs/desy.de/user/l/lbdwyer/h1/oo/H1AnalysisExample/Analysis$
root [1] f->ls()
TFile** /afs/desy.de/user/l/lbdwyer/h1/oo/H1AnalysisExample/AnalysisExample.root
TFile* /afs/desy.de/user/l/lbdwyer/h1/oo/H1AnalysisExample/AnalysisExample.root
KEY: H1AnalysisExample AnalysisExample;1 H1Analysis

In my class I use:

gDirectory->Get(“H1Analysis”);

to get my analysis object, H1Analysis, and a “c out” statement confirms that I have it, how can I now access the chains and their histograms?

Thank you for your help,

Lisa

Hi,

In newer version of ROOT you can simply do:

in older version of ROOT, do

H1AnalysisExample *example = (H1AnalysisExample*)f->Get("H1Analysis");Cheers,
Philippe.

Hi Philippe,

Thank you for your help. I have tried the line of code that you suggestyed and it crashed my application when I pressed the close button in the dialog box of my gui, yielding the attached errors. Any ideas why?

I have also attached my close dialog box function and the function that reads back the chain of data files and fills the histogram. How can I get a chain from within the analysis object on file and put it through this sequence of events and display the histogram?

Thanks,

Lisa
AddHistoFunction.C (702 Bytes)
CloseFunction.C (754 Bytes)
CloseErrors.C (2.27 KB)

Hi Lisa,

You need to have TFile* f = new TFile(“yourdatafile.root”); before you call f->GetObject(“H1Analysis”,example);
This is the reason for the crash when you press the close button. For the rest I will leave Philippe to answer your questions.

Best regards, Ilka

Thanks, Ilka.

[quote]How can I get a chain from within the analysis object on file and put it through this sequence of events and display the histogram?