Reading values from TBranchElement

Hello, I am new to root and I have been trying to read the value from a TBranchElement object. I tried looking for a corresponding function online but the best I could find was GetValue(), which is only yielding the first value of a TBranchElement. Does anyone know how to obtain all values from a specific TBranchElement (to a specific entry)?

That’s rarely needed. Given that you’re new (welcome!) could you maybe tell us a bit more of the big picture: do you maybe have a couple of ROOT files, with TTrees, and you wonder how to read their data?

1 Like

Hello @Axel, thanks for your reply. In the attachment below I send you the root file I am trying to read. By visualising it with TBrowser, I recognise the “Delphes” tree, with several branches, which are actually TBranchElement objects. So far I have done:

tree = inFile.Get("Delphes")
for entry in tree:
    ePT = entry.GetBranch("Electron.PT")
    e1PT = ePT.GetValue(0,1))

This allows me to access the pT value for the leading electron, but by calling ePT.GetValue(1,1) I still obtain the same values. Is there perhaps an easier, more intuitive way of doing this?
ee_to_ll.root (951.0 KB)

The problem is with for entry in tree: :slight_smile: That’s not how you want to do analysis in Python. Please have a loot at RDataFrame: this gets rid of having to think about how to extract data, and you get scalabiity and speed for free.

We’re happy to help, e.g. for “how do I find the leading electron” - but let’s do that with RDataFrame! You could start with the tutorials at ROOT: Dataframe tutorials

1 Like

Dear @Axel, many thanks for the quick reply! I started working with RDataFrame and I imported the root file by simply doing.

df = ROOT.RDataFrame("Delphes", "ll_to_ee.root")