Reading Tree in PyROOT

Hi guys,

I am a beginner in writing Python in general and in the past few days I was experiencing some issues when
trying to read a TTree from a python script. Looking back at older threads and posts about this issue
I saw that there is an easy way of getting the branch info per event by simply asking for tree.branchname

However, when tried that in a loop I keep getting errors like:

which is the outcome of when trying to read per event the branch :

for event in tree: print tree.branchname

I am getting similar errors when running locally (OSX 10.9.4 + ROOT 5.34.19 + Python 2.7) or on lxplus.
The wierd thing would be that I have cross-checked my script with another user and it seems that it’s working fine for him. So I was thinking that it maybe an issue with exports?

However, I think I have all the correct exports as defined in the pyROOT documentation :

export ROOTSYS=/Users/username/root/root-v5-34-19 export PATH=$PATH:$ROOTSYS/bin export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$ROOTSYS/lib:$PYTHONDIR/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH export DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH=$DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH:$ROOTSYS/lib export PYTHONPATH=$ROOTSYS/lib:$PYTHONPATH export PATH=${HOME}/.local/bin${PATH:+:$PATH}

And they seem to be working fine for every other use appart from reading trees (e.g. I made the file using a similar script) and it contains nothing more special than:

[code]import ROOT
f = ROOT.TFile.Open(“blah.root”, “read”)
t = f.Get(“treename”)

for event in t :
print t.branch[/code]

I do not know if anyone has encountered something similar or it is just a silly mistake from my side. Any input would be appreciated.

Hi,

to read a tree in a file from python using PyROOT bindings you can in your case simply do the following:

import ROOT
f = ROOT.TFile.Open("blah.root")
for event in f.treename :
      print event.branchName.<do something with it>

Cheers,
Danilo

Hi Danilo,

Thank you for your answer! However I get the same typerror.