Reading multiple .dat files and save plots in .root

Hi everybody! I am new and this is my very first post. I hope i posted in the more appropriate category.
I am a physicist (like a lot in here i suppose) but i have to confess i seriously converted to ROOT since a couple of months. Of course i already had a lot of time to get introduced in ROOT and i already worked a lot with it but never by writing from blank a new script. Now it’s time to grow!

Here’s the deal: i am shooting beta particles through a diamond with graphite contacts and i am getting the numbers of collected electrons-holes. My software provide me essentially a file .dat, two columns of numbers: the bin (ADC channel) and the counts.

I want to plot the Energy Loss Distribution of the charged particles impinging in my diamond. Of course i change the voltage accross the diamond and i have several .dat files. It is one week i am dying in order to give as input not only one file name but to automatically read all the files present in the folder (i.e. run_1.dat, run_2.dat, etc.)

Here is a minimal working example of what i was able to write alone.

#include <iostream>   // std ::cout
#include <fstream>    // std::ifstream
#include "TFile.h"
#include <TCanvas.h>
#include "TLegend.h"
#include "TGraph.h"

using namespace std;

void Example()
{  
   string filename,infile,fileout,extin,extout;
   string input_dir;
   char DatDirectory [99];

// Reading .dat files (i want more than one!!!)
   extin=".dat";
   extout=".root";
   cout << "Please enter the directory containing\n"
           "the .dat files you wish to plot "<< endl;
   cin >> DatDirectory;
   cin.getline(DatDirectory, sizeof(DatDirectory));
   input_dir=(DatDirectory);   // Input Directory from user
   cout<<"File you wish to plot? (without .dat extension): ";
   // Asking filename
   getline(cin, filename);
   infile=input_dir+filename+extin;
   fileout=filename+extout;
   cout<<"Processing Data File: "<<infile<<endl;    //Just a check