Query about the statistical model used in AvalancheMC

I have few questions about the avalanche model used in AvalancheMC. I am a PhD student working in detector simulation it is very necessary to understand for me the following questions. I will be thankful to you is you please answer all these.

1. Is that model derived from the yule-furry model. If yes the as i know yule furry model does not take into account attachment; however here i have seen attachment is introduced.

2. what is the length of the subdivision of a drift step? is it probth=0.01? how do we get the value?

3. What is the physical interpretation of the sum of alpha and eta (alps[i] + etas[i])?

4. Is it possible to get explanation of the following portion of the code from AvalancheMC

// Subdivision of a step.
    constexpr double probth = 0.01;
    // Compute the number of subdivisions.
    const int nDiv = std::max(int((alps[i] + etas[i]) / probth), 1);
    // Compute the probabilities for gain and loss.
    const double p = std::max(alps[i] / nDiv, 0.);
    const double q = std::max(etas[i] / nDiv, 0.);
    // Loop over the subdivisions.
    for (int j = 0; j < nDiv; ++j) {
      if (ne > 100) {
        // Gaussian approximation.
        const int gain = int(ne * p + RndmGaussian() * sqrt(ne * p * (1. - p)));
        const int loss = int(ne * q + RndmGaussian() * sqrt(ne * q * (1. - q)));
        ne += gain - loss;
        ni += gain;
      } else {
        // Binomial approximation
        for (int k = ne; k--;) {
          if (RndmUniform() < p) {
            ++ne;
            ++ni;
          }
          if (RndmUniform() < q) --ne;
        }
      }

Hi, welcome to the ROOT forum!

I think @hschindl can help here.

1. Correct. In a scenario without attachment, the avalanche size distribution (for a flat electric field) you get using AvalancheMC should correspond to a Yule-Furry distribution.