Python ROOT import issue

Hey folks!

There’s a problem I really am getting insane about. Being a complete sourcecode newbie, I got managed to install ROOT on OS X 10.6. It works (at least it seems to). But there’s one issue that remains, which is that python simply won’t load the ROOT module.

The problem itself is that I just don’t know where Python.h and PyROOTLib.so are.
In another thread in this forum I found ./configure macosx64 --enable-python --with-python-incdir=/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/Current/include/python2.7/ --with-python-libdir=/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/Current/lib/ --enable-builtin-pcre
This seemed quite reasonable to me and I jogged it down in my Terminal, still it didn’t change a thing. After starting python, if I type in >>> import ROOT it responds with Traceback (most recent call last): File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module> ImportError: No module named root
As said, I am a complete newbie on this kind of stuff, and I don’t want to wreck my Mac so that in the end it’s as slow as a PC… so can anyone please tell me what to do? :frowning:

Thanks!

Hi,

I’m not a mac expert, but one thing caught my eye:

[quote=“BakersCookies”]>>> import ROOT it responds with Traceback (most recent call last): File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module> ImportError: No module named root
[/quote]

Did you cut and paste the command and error messages? Are you sure that you typed import ROOT and not import root? The error message suggests the latter. If you really did type what you said, then some funky case stuff is going on…

Good luck,
Charles

Hey there and thanks for the fast answer.
That was my bad. I did type in “root”, not “ROOT”.

In the installation instructions for PyROOT it says:

Does anyone know where those two files are on mac os x? Maybe that would help me already.

Hi,

but did you afterwards try “import ROOT” as well?