PROOF and LXBatch

I am just starting to learn PROOF from http://wiki.gsi.de/cgi-bin/view/Grid/TheParallelRootFacility
and http://wiki.gsi.de/cgi-bin/view/Grid/TheParallelRootFacility.
I would like to run PROOF from my machine networked at CERN using workers in the LXBatch system( My only experience with lxbatch is using bsub commands from Lxplus machines).

Assuming that I have a working PAR file how do I set this up? If you know of any other good sources of PRROf information, please send me the url.
Thank you to everone who has been helping me out here on Root Talk.

Is there another openly accesible cluster that I can run proof on?

Hi,

Unfortunately we do not have public PROOF-enables cluster where you can run. To give a try at CERN, perhaps the best is to do it using a few lxplus machines. There is some doc at root.cern.ch/twiki/bin/view/ROOT … stallation about setting a small cluster.

For what relates to LSF, I cannot open the pages that you give so I do not know what you could find there about running PROOF on a LSF-enabled system. That was not the original idea of PROOF, so you need some trick to do that. Below are some guidelines following an (successful) attempt that I did several years ago. I hope it still works, but there is no guarantee.

The first thing to understand is if the lxbatch machines can be contacted from outside on port 1093 (or some other port): this is not obvious, given the recent restrictions on machine interconnectivity applied at CERN.

If there is a port that you can use, then you need to submit batch jobs starting the ‘proofd’ daemons: see the attachement for an example where you have to put the ROOT distribution that you want to run and substitute 1093 with the port that you are allowed to use (if different).