Problems with FIT

Hello!

I am new with ROOT and I have some problems related with fitting histograms. First of all, I am trying to analysis the Z decays into pairs of muons, as well, I generate all the data and plotted it in a histogram.
The histogram has only one signal + background. Then I did the steps below:

1. Fitted only the background
  2. Created a random histogram with the fitted background function
  3. Subtract the random background histogram from the total histogram

As expected the result was only the signal with a couple of points

With parameters:
3.6 width
90.8 peak

It isn’t a good result.
Someone can help me with another way to do this fit?

Obs.

1. To generate a random histogram I calculated the integral of the background fitted function (discovering the number of entries for the background)
  2. The code I used is attachecode.cpp (1.2 KB)
    d

After subtract the background from total (log scale)

I really need help :frowning:
Thanks everyone!

Hi,

in some sense I think this post is not related to ROOT or the fitting tools it provides.
The “goodness” of your result is probably due to the fact that your background subtraction procedure needs some attention and perhaps to the fact that the function you fit is not perhaps accurately describing the shape of the Z peak.

Cheers,
D

Dear Elison,