Problem with embed TFitEditor

Hi rooters,
I added in my gui a TFitEditor panel, in this way the user can have a sort of interactive fitter.
I embedded the fitpanel in my gui in the following way

vFrameTab3_2b->SetEditable(kTRUE);
 new TFitEditor(NULL,NULL);
 vFrameTab3_2b->SetEditable(kFALSE);

where vFrameTab3_2b is a TGCompositeFrame.

But when I run the code everything I have the following error

Error in <TList::AddLast>: argument is a null pointer

Any suggestion?

Cheers
mmoo

Hi,

I see the same message, but the Fit Editor is correctly embedded, right?

Cheers, Bertrand.

Yes, graphically speaking it seems perfect.

Concerning the error, I am not an expert but may it be related to the fact that I launch my TFitEditor with neither an object to fit nor a function to perform such fit.

Moreover, I have no idea how to retrieve informations after the fit has been performed: since I did not build the TFitEditor, I have no Fit-button to connect to some method.

Cheers,
mmoo

correct

Well, I’m not the author of the editor, but I think you’re using it the wrong way. It should be connected to a TCanvas in order to automatically get connected to its histogram…

correct

But can I leave it this way?

Well, I’m not the author of the editor, but I think you’re using it the wrong way. It should be connected to a TCanvas in order to automatically get connected to its histogram…

Maybe I did not explained myself correctly…
I can connect the TFitEditor to the object I want to fit by clicking on it.
The one thing I am interested in and which I cannot get (up to now) is retrieving the fitted information such as the fitted function.
I tried to use the TFItEditor::GetListOfFittedFunctions()->Print() but such command is called when I launch my gui and because of no fit has been performed yet no function is listed.
What I would like to do is to connect the Fit-button to a function so that I can call these methods after the fit has been performed.

Probably, if it works…