Problem running PyROOT on cygwin

I have both Python 2.6 and root 5.27 installed on my Windows 7 machine and I can run PyROOT applications under windows just fine. However, I want to be able to run in Cygwin (much nicer user environment). I can get both Python and root to run individually in Cygwin, but when I try “import ROOT” in python, I get the error message No Module Named ROOT. I was assuming this was a problem with paths so I added C:/root/bin (where ROOT.py is located) to my pythonpath in Cygwin - but it still doesn’t work. I am new to coding in windows so please be very (syntax) specific on how to specify paths in your answers :confused:

I use PyRoot on Cygwin a lot. First question: Did you set up your environment correctly?

cplager@tableau> printenv | grep -i root CVSROOT=cdfcvs@cdfcvs.fnal.gov:/cdf/code/cdfcvs/run2 LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/local/bin/root/lib:/lib: PATH=/usr/local/bin/root:/usr/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/local/netpbm/bin:/home/cplager/bin:/usr/bin:/home/cplager/bin:/cygdrive/c/Program Files/MiKTeX 2.7/miktex/bin:/cygdrive/c/WINDOWS/system32:/cygdrive/c/WINDOWS:/cygdrive/c/WINDOWS/System32/Wbem:/cygdrive/c/Program Files/GhostView/gs8.63/bin:/cygdrive/c/PROGRA~1/COMMON~1/SONICS~1/:/cygdrive/c/PROGRA~1/COMMON~1/MUVEET~1/030625:/usr/local/bin/root/bin/:/usr/X11R6/bin/:.::/usr/X11R6/bin/:/usr/local/packages/cern/bin:/usr/local/bin/kerberos:. ROOTSYS=/usr/local/bin/root PYTHONPATH=/usr/local/bin/root/lib:

Cheers,
Charles

Hi,

no access to a windows box right now, but you can pick up from the python prompt which paths are visible by looking at sys.path, and using os.path.exists() to see whether the individual elements are “translated” properly (drive numbers etc.).

Cheers,
Wim

Thanks for your help. When I try sys.path in python I get the following:
[’’, ‘/cygdrive/c/root/lib’, ‘/home/gatu/C’, ‘/home/gatu/\root\bin’, ‘/usr/lib
/python26.zip’, ‘/usr/lib/python2.6’, ‘/usr/lib/python2.6/plat-cygwin’, ‘/usr/li