Problem loading existing ROOTC++ Jupyter kernel notebook

_ROOT Version: 6.20/04
_Platform: XUbtuntu 20.04 (focal)
_Compiler: g++ 9.3 (distro version)

Good afternoon!

I’m a lecturer who has to teach C++ to year 1 mathematicians. I am considering moving to using the ROOT notebook system because it offers rapid feedback to C++ novices.

Xubuntu 20:04 encourages a move to Python3 and since existing ROOT binaries don’t include this option, I decided to compile ROOT from scratch. The process was relatively straightforward and the resulting ROOT system works perfectly from the terminal.

Python 2.7’s pip was removed from the Xubuntu distro, so I removed all relevant Xubuntu 19:04, python 2.7 based jupyter configuration in my home directory in order to try and get a clean configuration.

After installing the Xubuntu Jupyter from apt and then using pip3 locally (i.e. no root permissions) to install metakernel and zmq, I was able to run: ROOT --notebook, to create and run a ROOTC++ kernel notebook and to save it. Unfortunately when I tried reloading the notebook, it reported: type error: ext.toLowerCase is not a function and in the terminal it said:

[I 14:09:42.534 NotebookApp] Kernel started: ed328c5d-f077-477e-bab5-126784bf1770
[IPKernelApp] ERROR | No such comm target registered: jupyter.widget.version
[IPKernelApp] ERROR | No such comm target registered: jupyter.widget.version

Running jupyter nbextension list results in:

Known nbextensions:
  config dir: /etc/jupyter/nbconfig
    notebook section
      jupyter-js-widgets/extension  enabled 
      - Validating: OK

Interestingly if you open a Python3 notebook and import ROOT, not only can you save the notebook, you can load it again and all the C++ works perfectly with the %%cpp magic.

Please can you suggest how I might solve this issue?

Many thanks

Marv

[EDITS] typos and misread “compiler” to say “computer”

Dear Marv,