Problem about Installing ROOT on Ubuntu

Hello, I’m a ROOT novice. I tried to install the root_v6.08.06.Linux-ubuntu16-x86_64-gcc5.4 version on ubuntu 16.04 as the file INSTALL under root/README folder says but I failed. I need some help on installing ROOT. Thanks in advance. My steps were as follow:

1.Get the sources.
I download root_v6.08.06.Linux-ubuntu16-x86_64-gcc5.4.tar.gz on http://root.cern.ch/downloading-root and extracted it. And then I wanted to access Git repository but it showed as follow:

~$ tar -zxf root_v6.08.06.Linux-ubuntu16-x86_64-gcc5.4.tar.gz

~$ cd root

~/root$ git tag -l
fatal: Not a git repository (or any of the parent directories): .git

~/root$ git checkout -b v6-08-06 v6-08-06
fatal: Not a git repository (or any of the parent directories): .git

The command lines are from the site https://root.cern.ch/get-root-sources

2.Getting ready for building
I installed and upgraded the necessary and recommended prerequisites tools such as cmake, gcc, g++.
Gcc and g++ version are 5.4.0. Cmake version is 3.5.1

1. Choosing installation method
    I tried to use location independent build method and type commands as follow:

~$ mkdir ROOT

~$ cd ROOT/

~/ROOT$ cmake …/root
CMake Error: The source directory “/home/zhang/root” does not appear to contain CMakeLists.txt.
Specify --help for usage, or press the help button on the CMake GUI.

That moment, I thought I failed to install ROOT. I don’t know what steps went wrong. It showed that I lacked a git repository and CMakelist.txt. Subdirectories and file are listed as follow:
{aclocal} {cmake}, {emacs}, {fonts}, {icons}, {lib}, {macros}, {README}, {tmva},
{bin}, {config}, {etc}, {geom}, {include}, {LICENSE}, {man}, {test}, {tutorials}.

What should I do to make sure I install ROOT successfully?

Thanks in advance.

You downloaded the “binary distribution” which is ready for your system.
Simply unpack it:
~$ tar -zxf root_v*.Linux-ubuntu16-x86_64-gcc5.4.tar.gz
and start to use it: