Probems linking ROOT libraries with g++

I’m new to ROOT and I have recently set it up on my own Linux machine (Ubuntu 14.04) because I need ROOT and its libraries to build some programs for data analysis.

Right now I can’t link ROOT libraries to C++ code using g++ compiler, while I’m able to run the same code with CINT and as ROOT macro.
I started following the basic guide:
http://www.hep.shef.ac.uk/teaching/phy6040/ROOT/ROOTseminars/Seminar_4.html,
trying from the very basic example:

#include <iostream>
#include <TRandom1.h>

int main(void) {
  TRandom1* myrand = new TRandom1();
  for(int i=0;i<10;++i) {
    std::cout << myrand->Gaus(5,1) << std::endl;
  }
  return 0;
}

I am able to compile the code with the following:

g++ -c `root-config --cflags` RootExample.cpp 

But when I try to create the executable typing:

g++ `root-config --glibs` RootExample.o -o RootExample

I get:

I understand that this means that g++ isn’t able to find ROOT libraries, but I thought that the option root-config --glibs should give to g++ the address to all requred libraries.

I know that my problem is to find the right options to give to g++ to compile, because running the Makefile in $ROOTSYS/test, my computer compiled the test code properly and was able to produce the executable, but looking at the test/Makefile I wasn’t able to understand the procedure.

Thanks in advance, I searched a lot on forums and internet and I wasn’t able to find anything that could help me

MP

Try:
root-config --cxx --cflags -o RootExample RootExample.cpp root-config --glibs

It worked, thank you very much!

But I don’t understand the logic of the command I typed (where do I call the compiler?).
How do I modify it to add other libraries? In my project I will use Opencv and boost libraries too

MP

The order of the libraries and object files in the link statement plays a role.

Thanks again