Passing RDataFrame values into Python function?

I am very new to using ROOT, so apologies if this question is unclear. I am trying to use the values stored in my RDataFrame as arguments for a Python function. Specifically, I want to define a Python function to solve a system of nonlinear equations, pass the values from each row of the RDataFrame as coefficients in the functions, and define a new column in the DF representing the solution (most likely using SciPy to find the solution). Most examples with user-defined functions seem to involve C++ functions, but is it possible to write the function in Python? Also open to other suggestions about how to approach this problem.

Hello @somebody_nobody,
welcome to the ROOT forum!

From what I understand, you need something like this:

import ROOT

# Create a data frame with 100 rows
rdf = ROOT.RDataFrame(100)

# Define a new column `x` that contains random numbers
rdf_x = rdf.Define("x", "gRandom->Rndm()")

@ROOT.Numba.Declare(['RVec<float>', 'float'], 'float') 
def pypowsum(x, y):
    s = 0
    for e in x:
        s += e**y 
    return s

pypowsum(rdf_x.Take[ROOT.Double_t]("x"), 3 )

Let me know if it helps.

Cheers,
Monica

Thank you for your reply. I am still looking for a solution that can define a new RDataFrame column with the result. In other words, I don’t want one result from the function, but a result corresponding to each event in the RDataFrame. My current attempt is as follows:

@ROOT.Numba.Declare([‘RVec’, ‘RVec’], ‘RVec’)
def add(x, y):
return x + y
df = df.Define(“sum”, add(“A”, “B”))

Unfortunately, I keep getting errors about the column names being “undeclared identifiers”. I have tried many modifications of this approach, but I’m not sure how to resolve it. Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

In this case, assuming that df is an RDF with columns A and B, what you would do is simply

df_sum = df.Define("sum", "A+B")