Open files in a directory with a for loop

Hi !
I’m new to ROOT and this Forum, so hopefully I’ve posted my problem in the right place! Right now I’m using Root in Windows 7, I’ve managed to plot histograms and fit them. Now i would like to loop inside a directory with the files containing the information for my histograms. I tried this way :

{
	ifstream inn;
	char dir[]="C:/root/folder/";
	for (Int_t i=0; i<60; i++)
		{
			char name=i;
			inn.open(dir+name);
			Int_t num=0;
			string s1="no name",s2="no name";
			inn>>s1>>s2>>num;
			cout<<s1<<" "<<s2<<" "<<num<<endl;
		}
}

The files in the directory are named with integers from 1 to 60, and the first line contains some information about the data in the file. This approach doesn’t work because it prints out “no name no name 0” for 60 times…

I know it’s probably a silly problem,
but has someone any idea on how to fix it ? is there a ROOT function which does this instead ?

Thanks
Ian

Hi Ian,

Here is a simple example showing how to list files in a directory:

void list_files(const char *dirname="C:/root/folder/", const char *ext=".root")
{
   TSystemDirectory dir(dirname, dirname);
   TList *files = dir.GetListOfFiles();
   if (files) {
      TSystemFile *file;
      TString fname;
      TIter next(files);
      while ((file=(TSystemFile*)next())) {
         fname = file->GetName();
         if (!file->IsDirectory() && fname.EndsWith(ext)) {
            cout << fname.Data() << endl;
         }
      }
   }
}

Hope this will help…

Cheers, Bertrand.

2 Likes

Hi Bertrand!

It works perfectly now , thank you very much!

Cheers
Ian

Hello Bertrand,

after I run your macro I get list of files in the folder ( I make it unnamed macro) but after I am done with reading directory

the declaration
sprintf(iline,"%s/loudest_rms.txt",dirname);
ofstream Frms1(iline);

doesnt succeed. While if I declare it before I start reading directory it works. I am wondering why is that happening.