ODBC access with Win32

Hi,

I am new to ROOT and am trying to figure out how to access data from a Microsoft SQL Server. I noticed that a new ODBC driver exists in ROOT 5.11 and thought I’d give it a try.

On my Windows XP machine I used the ODBC Data Source Administrator to add a connection to the SQL Server. There is a Test Data Source… button which I used to verify my connection and that seems to be working.

I downloaded the binaries for Root 5.11 and tried the following…

TSQLServer::Connect(“odbc://127.0.0.1/db_server”,“userid”,“pw”)

ROOT replied…

Error in : RODBC does not exist in .;c:\root/bin;C:\cygwin\usr\local\bin;C:\cygwin\bin;C:\cygwi\bin;C:\cygwin\usr\X11R6\bin;C:\cygwin\bin;c:\progra~1\emacs\bin;c:\Program Files\ThinkPad\Utilities;c:\WINDOWS\system32;c:\WINDOWS;c:\WINDOWS\System32\Wbem;c:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE;c:\Program Files\IBM ThinkVantage\Client Security Solution;c:\Program Files\ThinkPad\ConnectUtilities;c:\root\bin;c:\PROGRA~1\F-Secure\ssh;c:\Program Files\Diskeeper Corporation\Diskeeper;c:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 2003\Vc7\bin;c:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 2003\Common7\IDE;C:\cygwin\c\WINDOWS\system32;C:\cygwin\c\WINDOWS;C:\cygwin\c\Program Files\Microsoft Visual C++ Toolkit 2003\bin;C:\cygwin\c\Program Files\Microsoft Visual C++ Toolkit 2003;C:\cygwin\c\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 2003\Vc7\bin;C:\cygwin\c\Program Files\Microsoft SDK\Bin\Win64;C:\cygwin\c\Program Files\Microsoft SDK\Bin, or has wrong file extension (.dll)
(class TSQLServer*)0x0

I took a look around for libRODBC.dll and couldn’t find it anywhere on my machine.

I also tried to use TODBCServer (as in TODBCServer::Connect(“odbc://127.0.0.1/db_server”,“userid”,“pw”) but that doesn’t seem to exist.

Being new I’d also really appreciate pointers to understanding how to map the database tables into trees with the least amount of coding.

The Windows version 5.11/02 does not include the libRODBC.dll interface.