Number of Particles in an Entry

This question might seem really dumb, but here goes:

I have a dataset from a delphes output with the final product being muons. However, I’m not sure how many muons actually were created. I’ve been looking through the documentation as well as I could (I’m not too good at it) but I couldn’t find anything like a variable or method that returns how many particles are in each event/entry of a collision. Does anyone have any ideas what I could do?

The following is what I have right now, but the three should be replaced with something that actually shows the right number of particles in each entry.

for i in range(numEvents):
    entry = tree.GetEntry(i)
    collision = SimCol()
    for a in range(3):
        pt = tree.GetLeaf("Muon.PT").GetValue(a)
        eta = tree.GetLeaf("Muon.Eta").GetValue(a)
        phi = tree.GetLeaf("Muon.Phi").GetValue(a)
        collision.muons.append(TLorentzVector())
        collision.muons[-1].SetPtEtaPhiM(pt, eta, phi, 0.1)
    collision.calcInvMass()
    histo.Fill(collision.invMass)

ROOT Version: 6.26

Print the tree structure (tree.Print()) and see if there’s any “number of muons” (or whatever you want) branch/leaf. If not, you have to figure out how to count them --maybe make a histogram with the ones you want and get the number of entries (histo.GetEntries()), or just make a counter in the code.
I don’t know delphes, but searching the web there’s this:
https://cp3.irmp.ucl.ac.be/projects/delphes/wiki/WorkBook/RootTreeDescription

1 Like

Thanks! Sorry for the late reply, but how would I properly fill the histogram with all the muons? I feel like that rests on me actually knowing how many muons there are. As for when I printed the structure, it said there were 21 “baskets” in each Muon branch.

*Br  362 :Muon.PT   : Float_t PT[Muon_]                                      *
*Entries :    10000 : Total  Size=     109968 bytes  File Size  =      80865 *