New python configuration broke root --notebook on Ubuntu

I’m fairly new to linux and whatnot, so please be nice. I have had ROOT notebooks running just fine using a snap package install on Ubuntu.

Then I needed to run a python package written by a friend of mine for use in Jupyter notebook. He knew nothing about snap packages, but helped me with the install with pip using a virtual environment (I’m unclear how snaps differ from environments) as documented here: [not allowed].

Now when I try to run ROOT --notebook, I get: " No module named ‘notebook.notebookapp’ ". I can however, still import ROOT from within python when I’m not in the virtual environment. Does anybody have any idea why my notebooks have broken? Thanks.

Could you show the commands you’ve used to setup the virtual environment?

I wouldn’t expect a venv to be able to permamently break the snap; it’s immutable and can’t be easily changed. I imagine what’s going on is there’s an environment variable being passed into the snap from whatever venv commands are being run that causes a conflict with the snaps own Python environment, resulting in a temporary failure that should resolve if those variables weren’t there.

If you want to add pip packages to the snap, you’d do it like

root-framework.pip install packagename

Although the snap doesn’t use virtual environments specifically, for all intents and purposes it’s always in its own virtual environment and wouldn’t pick up on changes that were done by other means.

I’d imagine that rebooting the system and trying the pip install like the example above should sort things out; so long as you haven’t e.g made the virtual environment apply automatically on boot via .bashrc or similar.