Multiple particles in event RDataFrame

Hi,

I am new to the ROOT and trying to plot some histograms using RDataFrame. However, I encountered some difficulties. After MC generation I converted .lhe files to .root files and loaded them successfully, but I don’t know how to handle such trees that have multiple particles in a single event. I am using python and don’t know much about c++, so I assume this is the main problem. I am posting the minimal example below:

data = TChain('LHEF', 'LHEF')
data.AddFile('rootfile.root')

c = TCanvas()
model = ROOT.RDF.TH1DModel("model","",64,0,2000)

rframe = RDataFrame(data)
rframe = rframe.Define('fourVect', 'ROOT::Math::PxPyPzE4D(Particle.Px, Particle.Py, Particle.Pz, Particle.E)').Define('pt','fourVect.Pt()').Histo1D(model, 'pt')
rframe.Draw()
c.SetLogy()
c.Draw()

Here it works ok, but I want to filter and plot parameters for different particles now. So my guess e.g. for photon pt plot would be to add

.Filter('Particle.PID==22')

before Histo1D, but the program complains. I assume the problem is that I am comparing an array of particle PIDs in a single event to an integer (since when I ran a test on Particle_size - which is integer in this tree works ok). So my question is how to extract desired particles from events with different numbers of other particles?

Thank you in advance,
gasar8

EDIT: Sorry, my rootfile somehow was not attached and I thought it was.
rootfile.root (347.3 KB)

Hi Gasar8,

I think I miss something here. If your snippet works, I am not sure why the filter should not. You are working on individual particles and not collections I think. I allow myself to strip down the example:

model = ROOT.RDF.TH1DModel("model","",64,0,2000)
rframe = RDataFrame(LHEF, 'rootfile.root')
hist = rframe.Filter('Particle.PID == 22')\
             .Define('pt', 'sqrt(Particle.Px * Particle.Px + Particle.Py * Particle.Py)')\
             .Histo1D(model, 'pt')
c = TCanvas()
hist.Draw()
c.SetLogy()
c.Draw()

Hi Pnine,