Module 'ROOT' has no attribute 'TF1'

Hello! I am new at ROOT
I have a problem with PyRoot
I am trying to f1 = ROOT.TF1("f2","[0]*sin([1]*x)x",0.,10.) but I get the following error:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
AttributeError: module 'ROOT' has no attribute 'TF1'

do you know why and what is the solution?

by the way import ROOT is successfully working

At least:
f1 = ROOT.TF1("f2", "[0]*sin([1]*x)*x", 0., 10.)

Interesting. I seem to be having the same problem

Here’s what I get if I run that:

In [1]: import ROOT

In [2]:  f1 = ROOT.TF1("f2","[0]*sin([1]*x)x",0.,10.)
input_line_34:2:104: error: expected ';' after return statement
Double_t TFormula____id11643295355092022388(Double_t *x,Double_t *p){ return p[0]*TMath::Sin(p[1]*x[0])x[0] ; }
                                                                                                       ^
                                                                                                       ;
input_line_35:2:104: error: expected ';' after return statement
Double_t TFormula____id11643295355092022388(Double_t *x,Double_t *p){ return p[0]*TMath::Sin(p[1]*x[0])x[0] ; }
                                                                                                       ^
                                                                                                       ;
Error in <prepareMethod>: Can't compile function TFormula____id11643295355092022388 prototype with arguments Double_t*,Double_t*
Error in <TFormula::InputFormulaIntoCling>: Error compiling formula expression in Cling
Error in <TFormula::ProcessFormula>: Formula "[p0]*sin([p1]*x)x" is invalid !

I.e. the expression is invalid, as I think @Wile_E_Coyote meant to point out.

Cheers,
Enrico

Ah sorry, I ran f = ROOT.TF1("f1", "sin(x)/x", 0., 10.), it’s from the Example in Interactive graphics for PyROOT and the invalid expression in this post, still got the same error.