Making maps in pyroot

My question is how to make a map of vectors of strings in pyroot. I am accessing C++ code that produces a std::map<std::string,std::vectorstd::string> .
I’ve tried just using a dictionary of lists but that does not work.

I know there is syntax like ROOT.std.map(“string,whatever”) but I can’t see how to tell it how to make the more complicated object of nested stl thingies.

So the simple question is - how do I make x = std::map<std::string,std::vectorstd::string> in pyroot.

Thanks, Heidi - ok, I’ve been using root for over 20 years but I only get to code on vacations so I’m always rusty.

ROOT Version: 6.16
Platform: mac running Mojave
_Compiler:
gcc -v
Configured with: --prefix=/Library/Developer/CommandLineTools/usr --with-gxx-include-dir=/Library/Developer/CommandLineTools/SDKs/MacOSX.sdk/usr/include/c++/4.2.1
Apple clang version 11.0.0 (clang-1100.0.20.17)
Target: x86_64-apple-darwin18.7.0
Thread model: posix
InstalledDir: /Library/Developer/CommandLineTools/usr/bin

Hi Heidi,

you are looking in the right direction with ROOT.std.map, but for complicated types I would do it on the C++ - side with ROOT.gInterpreter.Declare or ProcessLine.

@etejedor probably knows the pythonic way, but I guess we have to wait for next week when people are coming back from vacation.

Ok, so I made a C++ function that creates a map of vectors of the objects I want. I can ginterpret it to load, make it, I can put stuff in it but then when I try to call a C++ constructor for HistWrapper with it as an argument I get the following

type of error_bands is <class ‘ROOT.map<string,vectorPlotUtils::DefaultCVUniverse** >’>

Traceback:

hw_enu = PlotUtils.HistWrapper(CVUniverse.CVUniverse)(“hw_enu”, “E_{#nu} NEW Method”,nbins, xmin, xmax, error_bands);

TypeError: none of the 7 overloaded methods succeeded. Full details: