Making a GUI for browsing

Hello everyone,

I am very new to ROOT. So please do forgive any obvious mistakes.

I am trying to make a gui for browsing the files on the computer. I need to select several .dat files for plotting and I thought it would easy to make a browser to navigate to the proper files and tell ROOT to plot these but I haven’t been able to find a way.

Any help would be much appreciated. :slight_smile:

Cheers,
Aty

Hi Aty,

I would suggest you to start by looking at the GUI tutorials in $(ROOTSYS)/tutorials/gui, and you could also write your own plugin for the ROOT browser…

Cheers, Bertrand.

Hi Bertrand,

Thanks a lot! I actually found those tutorial really helpful.

Also, I found this code on another post:

void open_file() { TGFileInfo file_info_; const char *filetypes[] = {"RAW images", "*.raw", 0, 0}; file_info_.fFileTypes = filetypes; file_info_.fIniDir = StrDup("."); new TGFileDialog(gClient->GetDefaultRoot(), gClient->GetDefaultRoot(), kFDOpen, &file_info_); if( file_info_.fFilename ) cout << "'" << file_info_.fFilename << "' selected." << endl; }

It returns the selected file name. However, I tried turning on multiple selection using

But when I now select multiple things, it does not return anything. I thought that the file name was stored in fFilename and it could be accessed this way. Does this work differently for multiple selections?

Cheers, Aty

Hi Aty,

Yes, when using multiple selection the returned TList is: file_info_.fFileNamesList

Cheers, Bertrand.

Hi Bertrand,

Right, that was silly. I actually just saw that when I looked in the documentation properly… Sorry about that.

On a totally different note, there’s been something I have been struggling with for several days and it’s been very frustrating; so frustrating that I gave up on it in fact (my account was just accepted).