Loading a Class Dictionary in windows 7

Hi,

I have always programmed in linux before so I am totally new to windows 7 and Visual Studio 2010. I have a visual studio solution that “interacts” with root and creates a root file as defined by a class MyClass.h. In linux, when I want to read the root file I just load the library before in CINT using
gSystem->Load(“MyClass.so”) and it all works fine.
But In windows I only have a .lib file and Load complains that it can not find it or that its not a .dll. But VS 2010 didn’t create a .dll for me and I am sure the path is the right one.
What kind of magic do I have to work here to be able to access my tree?

Thanks a lot in advance.

Berta

Hi Berta,

How did you generate your .lib file?
You have to create a dll (note you can use ACLiC, like on Linux)

Cheers, Bertrand.

Hi Bertrand,

I use Visual Studio 2010 to create a standalone program and create the .exe that we need for our application. To integrate root I do the following in the Project->project name->Property Pages (ALT +F7):

• Configuration properties-> Linker-> General-> add C:\root\lib
  • Configuration properties-> Linker-> Input -> Add all the root libraries such as libCore.lib, libGUi.lib etc…
  • Configuration properties-> C/C+±>General-> Add C:\root\include
  • Configuration properties -> Build Events -> Pre Build Event-> Command Line
    Add
    rootcint -f fooDict.cxx -c [list of all my .h] fooLinkDef.h
    This is the line that creates my .lib I believe, but I am not so sure, the .lib was there after compilation :slight_smile:

And that is pretty much all. Our executable works very well, but then, when I try to read the tree that we have created from one class I don’t know how to load the needed dictionary. I don’t know how to include the .dll creation in this the scheme, even using ACLIC.

I hope that this answers you question
Thanks again

Berta

Hi Berta,

[quote=“bbeltran”]rootcint -f fooDict.cxx -c [list of all my .h] fooLinkDef.h