Is ROOT the right tool for me?

Hello,

I recently discovered ROOT and it seems very powerful.
It can do multiplatform graphics and handle a lot of data which is what I need.
However before embarking into a journey on Root I would like to be sure it can do all what I want. So here is a brief description

I work in the field of genetics and recent technology brings us much larger amount of data than we could ever imagine. Navigating (including zooming), in 2D, through the genome and integrating difference source of information is becoming very important and I would therefore like to develop an interactive and Integrative Graphical interface. Attached is the type of picture I want to explore with a couple of million points for each plot.

Is it possible in ROOT ?

Any comments or suggestions ?

Thanks

JB

It should be trivial with ROOT. You can try for example the small script below that creates a histogram, fill it with 2 million points and draw it.
zooming on the x axis takes about 0.1 s

Rene

void lrr() { TH2F *hlrr = new TH2F("hlrr","Chromosome",170,0,170,20,-1,1); TRandom3 r; for (int i=0;i<2000000;i++) { hlrr->Fill((int)r.Uniform(0,170),r.Gaus(0,0.2)); } hlrr->Draw(); }

Dear Jebbie

It seems that you have created the enclosed image with R to display data from Affymetrix mapping arrays (package GenomeGraphs?)?

Thus I would suggest to look at my package “xps” which is based on ROOT to store all Affymetrix expression data, and which you can download from the BioConductor web-site. The vignette “xps.pdf” has an appendix about “ROOT graphics”, see:
bioconductor.org/packages/2. … oc/xps.pdf

In my personal opinion ROOT class TTree is the best way to store huge amounts of data (e.g. Affymetrix CEL-files), which you can then analyze even on computers with limited amounts of RAM.