Is it possible to create a .png file without screen output?

Hi, I have a rather easy question but I couldn’t find any answer yet. I am new to ROOT and I’m developing a data analysis software which produces a lot of graphs and plots. I am using Python+ROOT for the purpose in this way: (I call ROOT from Python…)

C=ROOT.TCanvas(…)
P=ROOT.TGraph(…
P.Draw(“L”)
C.Print(filename.png)
C.Close()

It works great but unfortunately it produces a lot of screen output, which is not necessary and very slow (especially if I work remotely through SSH). Is it possible to do the same without producing any screen output and “silently” saving the canvas?

Thank you very much
Emanuele

You can start ROOT in batch mode. (with no screen output at all)

root.cern.ch/cgi-bin/print_hit_b … #first_hit

[quote]New printing facilities in batch via TASImage
TASImage is an interface to image processing library using libAfterImage. It allows reading and writing of images in different formats, several image manipulations (scaling, tiling, merging, etc.) and displaying in pads. The size of the image on the screen does not depend on the original size of the image but on the size of the pad. Therefore it is very easy to resize the image on the screen by resizing the pad.
Besides reading an image from a file an image can be defined by a two dimensional array of values. A palette defines the color of each value.

The image can be zoomed by defining a rectangle with the mouse. The color palette can be modified with a GUI, just select StartPaletteEditor() from the context menu.