Integral over Component of composite PDF

Hello,
I am kind of new to root, especially to RooFit, which poses a great challenge for me. I have made a fit of a data set with a composite Model PDF consisting of several BreitWigner and a polynomial background. Now I need to integrate just one of these BreitWigner PDFs. I tried to do this with simply using BreitWigner.createIntegral(x), but this does not seem to work, since the BreitWigner PDF itself is not fitted (the fractions are not being included, if I do it this way). When I plot the components with model.plotOn(frame,Components(BreitWigner)) it looks alright, but I would need a function like model.createIntegral(x,Components(BreitWigner)) which I do not find in the class reference.
Can anybody help me with my problem? Thanks.

ROOT Version: 7
Platform: MacOS
Compiler: Don’t know

Hi,

What you can do is create a `https://root.cern.ch/doc/master/classRooExtendPdf.html’ using the BreitWigner pdf and the fitted number of events. If you are fitting the fraction, this value is just the product of the total number of events multiplied by the fitted fraction.
Then you can create the integral of this class.

Cheers

Lorenzo

1 Like

First of all, thank you very much for your answer. As a first step to implementing your solution, I tried to build such an RooExtendPdf from the whole composite Pdf and integrate over it in order to simply get back the number of events.
RooRealVar Norm(“Norm”,“Normalization”,PlusHist->GetEntries());
RooExtendPdf modelextend(“ExtendedModel”,“Model extended by number of events”,modelbkg,Norm);
RooAbsReal* CountAll = modelextend.createIntegral(mass);

(Legend: PlusHist is the histogram containing all events, modelbkg is the pdf and mass is my axis).

I included a picture of my fit and the data from PlusHist. Estimating the result of the integral, it should be over 7500 (value about 15 over a range of about 500), but the result is a value of about 700, which I do not understand.