Installing ROOT on Mac OS Fatal Error

Hello everyone,

So I am fairly new to programming in ROOT, so I apologise in advance for my lack of understanding.

So far I have followed the guide lines indicated by the ROOT installation procedure Here.

First method (best method thus far)
Step 1: I get the clone of the source file. this part is fine.

Step 2: I download CMake from CMake. It creates a GUI, in the GUI it asks “Where is the source code:” and I direct it to the clone of the source. Then it asks “Where to build the binaries” I create a new folder for these binary files. (I’m assuming this is is the $ mkdir step). I run the GUI and it makes the make files in this new directory.

Step 3: I go into the newly created directory and do
$ make -j4
this runs till about 72% then it stops due too an error. The fatal error occurs at 70%

/opt/local/include/unicode/ucnv.h:52:10: fatal error: 'unicode/ucnv_err.h' file not found
#include "unicode/ucnv_err.h"

Second method (does not get me far)
When I do the steps like

git clone http://root.cern.ch/git/root.git
cd root
git checkout -b v6-04-14 v6-04-14
mkdir <builddir>
cd <builddir>
cmake ../root

This procedure says

-bash: cmake: command not found

after getting this command not found. I tried (because I saw this suggested)

./configure 

this would still give the same command not found.

I am not 100% sure what is happening here. But this laptop is my works. I am running Mojave 10.14. I downloaded the clone of git. If there is anything you can recommend that would be great!

Paul

CMake.org -> Download Latest Release

Ok I see I used cmake 14.4 so I updated to 14.5. After downloading 14.5, I preformed the steps like before in First Method and this gives me this error.

CMake Error at interpreter/llvm/src/tools/clang/tools/driver/CMakeLists.txt:120 (file):
  file failed to open for reading (No such file or directory):

/Users/user/builddir/interpreter/llvm/src/tools/clang/clang.order

Any ideas?