Installing pyRoot on mac osx 10.12.5 Sierra and Anaconda

I am a newbie and I apologize if I am repeating a question that has been asked in the past and unintentionally overlooked it. I know that I am doing something funny but I do not know what it is. I appreciate it if you could kindly help.

I am trying to install pyROOT on Mac OS X 10.12.5 using anaconda (using python 3).

I did the following:

1. Installed ROOT 6.08/06 - 2017 - 03 - 02
  2. I have Anaconda 4.4.0 with Anaconda navigator 1.6.2 - originally with Python 3.x and added new env for python 2.x
  3. Did: source /Applications/root_v6.08.06/bin/thisroot.sh
  4. root --notebook

5. it gives me:

-=-=-=-=-=
Copy/paste this URL into your browser when you connect for the first time,
to login with a token:
http://localhost:8888/?token=fdf3bffaad2c92b6e4278844292ab036a9effbff52937d32
0:97: execution error: “http://localhost:8888/tree?token=2eab60ab3453dbf81791e7ff6df190f9f2a53aec48280012” doesn’t understand the “open location” message. (-1708)
-=-=-=-=-=

1. I copied the link and copied it into the Safari - it gives the ROOT notebook interface. Under the “New” drop down menu I get: Python 3, R and ROOT C++.

2. I chose: Python3, then I get the notebook.

3. I enter: Import ROOT. Then I get the following unhappy message:

-=-=-=-=

ImportError Traceback (most recent call last)
in ()
----> 1 import ROOT

/Applications/root_v6.08.06/lib/ROOT.py in ()
22 ### system and interpreter setup ------------------------------------------------
23 import os, sys, types
—> 24 import cppyy
26 ## there’s no version_info in 1.5.2

/Applications/root_v6.08.06/lib/cppyy.py in ()
58 sys.setdlopenflags( 0x100 | 0x2 ) # RTLD_GLOBAL | RTLD_NOW
—> 60 import libPyROOT as _backend
62 # reset dl flags if needed

ImportError: dynamic module does not define module export function (PyInit_libPyROOT)

-=-=-=
9. If I go back and choose Root C++, then I get the following unhappy message:

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=