Install of FFTW on windows

Hello everyone,
I’m trying to make an FFT of signal that I read from an ASCII file
But I have a problem with the FFT! I even can’t run the example provided with root (FFT.C), I get an error message about libfftw3-3.dll.

how can I install FFTW3?
I’m using root in windows !!!

can anyone provide me with the steps to follow? i’m a beginner with root!! :confused:

Thank you in advance.

Hi,

See: fftw.org/install/windows.html

Cheers, Bertrand.

Thank you for your reply! I already saw this page but I didn’t understand what I should do! I downloaded the fftw-3.3.3-dll64.zip I unzip it. but I didn’t know what to do next! :frowning: can you please give me the steps to follow? that would be nice.

[quote=“Momos1989”]I downloaded the fftw-3.3.3-dll64.zip I unzip it.[/quote]Well, first of all, this is the wrong one. You must talke the 32bit one (fftw-3.3.3-dll32.zip). Then unzip it somewhere and add this “somewhere” to your PATH. That should be sufficient.

Cheers, Bertrand.

I downloaded the 64, because I have a 64 Operating system. Should I download the 32bit even if I hhave a 64bit Operating system?

How can I add the unziped folder to the path?? is it directly from the Root interactive session? and what is the command to use?

Thank you for your quick reply! :slight_smile:

Thank you so so much Mr.Bertrand!!! It works now!! I added the unziped folder to the PATH under windows environement and it works finally !!

Thank you so much for your help! :slight_smile:

[quote=“Momos1989”]I downloaded the 64, because I have a 64 Operating system. Should I download the 32bit even if I hhave a 64bit Operating system?[/quote]Yes, because ROOT is built in 32bit mode only.

The second one is to add it to the environment variables from the Windows advanced settings (if you don’t know how to do it, search this forum or Google for it, or see this page :wink:)

[quote=“Momos1989”]Thank you for your quick reply![/quote]You’re welcome :slight_smile:

Hello!