HowTo install ROOT on OSX Mavericks?

Dear ROOT-experts,

I’m very new in ROOT. I use a Mac with OSX Mavericks. I would like to install ROOT.

I’ve tried this manual, but it doesn’t work:
https://thismodernphysics.wordpress.com/2014/01/16/installing-root-on-mac-10-9/

The installation of the first few things seems not working probably. I used the binary from here: https://root.cern.ch/drupal/content/production-version-534

Could you be so kind and help me with installing? Xcode and Command Line Dev tools are on my machine.

Sincerely
Felix

Hi Filex

In my experience running ROOT on Mac OSX, its best to just compile root from source code. Since you already have Xcode and Command Line Dev tools, you are already set ( I assume you also have XQuartz 2.7.7 installed xquartz.macosforge.org/landing/)

Just download the source code for ROOT 6.02/08 (or ROOT 5.34/30) and unzip

$ gunzip   root_v6.02.08.source.tar.gz 
$ tar xvf  root_v6.02.08.source.tar.gz

then go into the directory just extracted and configure and compile. Don’t bother about how many core your machine has, just go with the standard “make”

$ cd root-6.02.08 
$ ./configure macosx64 
$ make 

Wait for 15 - 30 mins and you are done (Unless tons of error then post them here and other will help figure it out). Now keep track of the absolute path of your root-6.02.08 folder. I presume you download root_v6.02.08.source.tar.gz into your ~/Downloads folder, so the path to your compiled ROOT is ~/Download/root-6.02.08

Now open up your .profile file and add the following line anywhere you want

source ~/Downloads/root_v6.02.08/bin/thisroot.sh

Open a new terminal and start using root.

Hi,

many thanks for your answer. I will try it.

Is there no other possibility, because I didn’t like XQuartz?

What does it mean “Open a new terminal and start using ROOT.”? On the lab computers there is an icon on desktop. I click on it and then root starts with a new terminal window. Automatically.