How to write a histogramming code in root

Greetings,
I know that my question is too beginner :blush: . Anyhow I have to work with Geant4 and I need to get a histogram.
I am a newbie to both LInux and c++
I am running ubuntu 10.10 , I have installed root successfully .
I don’t know to write a histogramming code from where I have to start. I have had a look at documentations but didn’t find any sample code. I will really appreciate if any one can give me a good hint.
Many thanks in advance

Hi!
Well… first of all you can try creating a simple histogram at the command line! :slight_smile:
Type root in a bash shell (= Terminal), then write these simple lines of code:

root[0] TH1D *myFirstHisto = new TH1D("myFirstHisto","My first histogram in ROOT!", 100,-5,5)
root[1] for(int i = 0; i < 100000; i++)myFirstHisto->Fill( gRandom->Gaus(0,1) )
root[2] myFirstHisto->Draw()
root[3] myFirstHisto->Fit("gaus")

I think this is the best way to enjoy ROOT (so was for me)! Ah, press ENTER after each line!

Another hint: start reading the ROOT tutorials! (in the $ROOTSYS/tutorials folder or via web
at http://root.cern.ch/root/html/tutorials/ )… in the hist directory there are many script examples.

Good luck!
luca

Hi,

Thank you for your response. Actually I have to learn working with Geant4. I have installed both AIDA and root for analysis.
they have their own histogramming code, I ran those codes but the output is a .root file.
I don’t know if I can open this file in root!
I have trasfered my output file with the name AnaEx01.root to the /root7macros and then I opened root and ,tried to load and open this file but I got:
Bad source file(binary) ~/root/macros/AnaEx01.root interpreter error recovered

Thanks again in advance

Sorry, I thought you were a ROOT beginner! Anyway… in general if you have a .root file you should be able to open it via TBrowser, i.e. open ROOT in your working directory, type at the command line

and browse your .root file if possible.