How to start root in VSCode

I’m a freshman majoring in physics with some python skills and literally no C/C++ experiences. Have no idea how to use root without typing in my terminal. How can I do so?

Hi @Pipi,

I guess that you already have a ROOT distribution installed, correct me if I’m wrong. As a reminder, ROOT can be used either

1. from the shell: ROOT prompt (C++)
$ root
root [0] // type here your C++ code or load an external macro file as follows
root [1] .x macro_file.C

Using the .x command will automatically call a function named after the file (i.e., macro_file in the previous example).

1. from an interactive Python session or Python script (PyROOT):
$ python
>>> import ROOT
>>> # the code for your analysis
  1. or a Jupyter notebook (Python or C++):
$ root --notebook

For VS Code, maybe you will be interested in this blog post: How to run ROOT Macros in VS Code - ROOT.

Cheers,
J.

Thank you for your reply! However, I found my m1 Macbook air could not import ROOT in python. Does these methods work in m1 Mac?

Hi @Pipi,

AFAIK, there should be no problem in using PyROOT on the M1 Mac, but maybe @Axel can confirm? Could you also post here the error you are getting, if any?

Cheers,
J.

Anyway, thank you for your patience :grin:

Hi @Pipi,

Regarding the No module named 'ROOT' Python error, how did you installed ROOT (e.g. Conda build, brew, etc.)? I think PyROOT support should be there, but either the ROOT package is installed for a different Python version (other than 3.8.3 that you show above), or the package cannot be found on the search path for any other reason, e.g. the conda environment has not been activated.
Maybe @etejedor could suggest something here.

The second problem that you show is totally unrelated. The .x command will automatically call a function called after the file, i.e. slit in your case. That error might be triggered if the file was renamed, in which case, the “entry point” of the macro must also be renamed.

Cheers,
J.