How do I learn "event display"?

Hi,

I am a very beginner of ROOT.I joined a project in high energy physics.My work is to learn “detector simulation”.Now I have learned GDML language to describe the detector geometry(In fact,I wonder whether it is strong).

The teacher told me that the event data is stored in root file.So I am eager to know how to display the particle,the cluster or the track events using ROOT, how to define them by myself and how to show the event data together with detector.I cannot find the course about these questions above in the Internet.

So I want your advice sincerely.Would you give me directions or tell me what I should do or what document I should read and learn from now on?

Hi everybody,

I also got this via a private message two days back, here’s my reply. Apparently it was insufficient :wink:

Cheers,
Matevz

On 04/23/13 20:27, phpbb@root.cern.ch wrote:

Hello,sir.I am sorry for disturbing you.

Don’t worry, all is good … your English is fine

I am a perplexed beginner from China(My English is not very

good,sorry).I joined a project in high energy physics.My work is to learn
“detector simulation”.Now I learned GDML language to describe the detector
geometry(In fact,I wonder whether it is strong).

It’s used quite frequently … and these days it should be easy to transform it to TGeo geometry used by ROOT.

The teacher tell me that the event data is stored in root file.So now my

largest problem is how to display the track ,the particle or the cluster
event using ROOT and how to define them by myself and how to show the event
data together with detector.What makes me uneasy is I cannot find the
information about the questions above in the Internet.

Wow, you got a complicated task Visualization seems easy but at the end, as you see, you must handle and show all kinds of data. Take a look at examples in $ROOTSYS/tutorials/eve/ and run them, in particular:
geom_cms.C (and other geom_*)
alice_vsd.C
alice_esd.C
but do look at others, too.