Help with graphing data from ascii file

So i’m still relatively new to root and was wondering how to go about plotting thousands of lines of data from a DAQ board we have set up in our research lab. I could go into more specifics but i guess my general questions would be; how do i go about plotting this information into a graph? Is there a specific format that root requires or can i just use this raw data without translating it? If I am required to translate it what are some tips to doing so?

1drv.ms/t/s!AhBCKuphMeDlgV2Y_M6DlSHtiibV
(thats the link for the txt file with the raw data from the DAQ board.)

Hi,

the class you are looking for is TGraph: root.cern.ch/doc/master/classTMultiGraph.html.
For what concerns the parsing of the ascci file, since it’s a custom format, I do not see how it could be used as is in ROOT but it’s going to be pretty straightforward to extract the relevant information from it.
Note that ROOT classes can be used from Python too: root.cern/doc/master/group__tut … yroot.html . This makes the “gluing” of different components even easier.

Cheers,
Danilo

Hi,
I completely agree with Danilo that there is no general way to extract data from
a custom formated file. I once made a little program which reads data
a la gnuplot. It treats however only floats/integers no hex.
This might give a hint how to do it, extension to e.g. hex should be straightforward.
http://homepages.physik.uni-muenchen.de/~Otto.Schaile/macros/table2graph.C

This could also help for the case in this post (no sscanf):
[url]Cannot read a csv file containing more than 14 column

Cheers
Otto