Help installing Root on mac osx 10.4.11

Dear reader,
I am trying to build Root on my mac (version os x 10.4.11). I should have everything necessary installed. however at the “make” command an error follows:

/usr/bin/ld: unix/src/TUnixSystem.o bad magic number (not a Mach-O file)
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make: *** [lib/libCore.dylib] Error 1

I have NO knowledge of linux, or building from source, I have been following tutorials thus far. If it helps, the bad magic number may be a result of the error previous to this:

unix/src/TUnixSystem.cxx:644: error: unrecognizable insn:
(insn:HI 9 6 97 0 (parallel [
(set (reg:DI 0 ax)
(asm_operands/v:DI (“mffs %0”) ("=f") 0 []
[] (“unix/src/TUnixSystem.cxx”) 634))
(clobber (reg:QI 19 dirflag))
(clobber (reg:QI 18 fpsr))
(clobber (reg:QI 17 flags))
]) -1 (nil)
(nil))
unix/src/TUnixSystem.cxx:644: confused by earlier errors, bailing out
{standard input}:812:FATAL:.abort detected. Assembly stopping.
make: *** [unix/src/TUnixSystem.o] Error 1

But I solved (I think) this by renaming the TUnixSystem.(something) to TUnixSystem.o.

To the problem at hand, I do not have “libCore.dylib” in my lib folder, do I just need some libraries??

Thank you

Kim

Hi Kim,

[quote]But I solved (I think) this by renaming the TUnixSystem.(something) to TUnixSystem.o. [/quote]This does not work! The .something is not a proper/complete .o file and is not useable.

This is a bug in the compiler. You will need to either only build in debug mode (add --debug to the configure line) or to upgrade your compiler version.

Cheers,
Philippe

Hi, thanks for your advice. When I tried adding “–debug” to the configure line:

./configure macosx --debug

it says invalid option, searching through --help, there isn’t a debug mode

I have gcc4, if this is my complier, it should be the most recent one avalable to me. As it is, the problem still stands

humm try simply./configure --build=debug

Cheers,
Philippe.