Gui_ex.py broken. Any working examples?

Dear all,

I’m trying to build a GUI using PyROOT.
From Wim’s comments elsewhere, it seems that $ROOTSYS/tutorials/pyroot/gui_ex.py should show the recommended way. However, this example does not seem robust:

1. when I run it as python gui_ex.py, it just segfaults
  2. when I run it from ipython, a window opens up.
    2.1 If I close it using the window manager, all appears well. But when I run it again, it segfaults.
    2.2 If I close it using the “Exit” button, it hangs for a while then segfaults

On the plus side, the “Draw” button seems to work well.

BTW: for those trying this at home, it tends to mess up the terminal. “stty sane” is your friend (yet another hint from Wim’s old posts).
Does anyone have a working example of opening a GUI window, displaying some ROOT object in it, and closing that window that properly handles all the objects and the lifetimes (e.g. can be re-entered)?

many thanks,
Amnon Harel

Hi,

I’m not a Python expert, but see [url=https://root-forum.cern.ch/t/handling-keys-in-application/19407/1 post[/url]

Cheers, Bertrand.

Hi Bertrand,

Your example works (with minor caveats listed below), but it doesn’t display any “normal” root object (function, histogram, etc.), which is key part of what I want to accomplish. I see that I failed to make this explicit in my original post. My apologies.

So I tried adding a R.TRootEmbeddedCanvas

This line by itself is enough to destabilize everything.
It does not matter whether or not I add the frame with

Once I use TRootEmbeddedCanvas:
A. when I run the script the second time, I get warnings as listed below.
B. when I try to exit the script the second time, ipython/ROOT hangs/segfaults.
C. when I try to quit ipython it hangs.

Any ideas how to properly manage the objects so I can embed a canvas and draw histograms on it?
I assume this is the problem, rather than TRootEmbeddedCanvas itself being buggy.

thanks,
Amnon

The minor caveats: