Graphs and TBrowser not opening

Hi,

I have just start learning root. I used Draw in my code but when i run it i get the error below

Error in TGClient::TGClient: can’t open display “:1”, switching to batch mode…
In case you run from a remote ssh session, reconnect with ssh -Y

Also if i run TBwroser I get simliar error

Error in TGClient::TGClient: can’t open display “:1”, switching to batch mode…
(TBrowser *) 0x55c67dc937d0

I am not working remotely, i am running it on my laptop.

ROOT Version: 6.22/08
Platform: Ferdora 34
Compiler:gcc 11.1

Can you try xclock?

it says the below

bash: xclock: command not found…
Similar command is: ‘clock’

I just want to know if you can open a graphical Window (like a Web browser for example, or if you only have the problem with ROOT)

I am sorry i am new to linux based system. I dont know how to open web browser from terminal. But i can use gedit from terminal.

Well, then I don’t know, maybe a more advanced Linux user could help… @eguiraud ?

okay. Thanks anyways

Hi,
in the ROOT prompt, what does gROOT->IsBatch() return? E.g. for me:

$ root -l
root [0] gROOT->IsBatch()
(bool) false

same as yours

Ok and then please run in the terminal:

$ echo $DISPLAY

and in the ROOT prompt:

root [0] TBrowser b

and let us know what happens :slight_smile:

Cheers,
Enrico

I am getting this

echo $DISPLAY
:1
TBrowser a                                                                 
Error in <TGClient::TGClient>: can't open display ":1", switching to batch mode...
(TBrowser &) Name: Browser Title: ROOT Object Browser

Ok your environment says one thing ($DISPLAY is :1) but ROOT does not agree that it’s a valid display.

Can you think of any program or setting in your Linux environment that might mess with the display settings?

We can do a quick and desperate try, running in the terminal: export DISPLAY=:0 and then in the same terminal trying out that ROOT command (for example, just to check what happens).