General questions about TMVA

Dear TMVA users,

I just started learning about performing multivariate analysis in the context of cosmic-ray research and needless to say, I am a bit lost.

The idea is simple: use TMVA package to be able to classify events corresponding either to cosmic-ray background, either to some very specific signal.

The cosmic-ray background was simulated using CORSIKA on a wide range of energy. The fact that I am looking for ultra-high energy signal forces me to get as much events as possible at the highest energies for the CR background. However, since the CR background has a spectrum in E^-2.7, it means that an extremely large number of events must be simulated at the lowest energy. Computing resources being limited, I decided to simulate a E^-1 spectrum instead and weight my histograms by E^-1.7. So far, so good.

Each image formed on the telescopes cameras by the air-showers generated by the CR background can be characterized by a set of parameters that corresponds to the set of variables I am using for the multivariate analysis. Same goes for the signal images; the basic idea is to use TMVA to say whether an image is signal or background, based on these parameters.

Now, here is my concern: changing the spectrum index of the CR background does not change the range of values of each one of my variables. However, it does have an impact on the distribution (by distribution, I mean the relative height of my histogram bins for each variable). Does this change in distribution have an impact on the TMVA analysis? Does it depend on the method employed (Fisher, BDT, likelihood,etc…).

My intuition is that it shouldn’t really matter but I am not quite sure about it. The reason for that is that it has come to my understanding that one can use as many signal events in the training and testing phases, no matter the proportion of signal he expects to find hidden in the background using real data. Am I right regarding this last statement?