Fatal error: TFile.h: No such file or directory

Hi,
I’ve just switched my computer from windows to linux (Mint 18.1 x64) and am having some issues getting my macros to run- namely ROOT is unable to find any of the header files not native to C++ (ie IOstream is located without issue but TFIile cannot be found), both in interpreted and compiled modes. Root was installed using the terminal input sudo apt-get install root-system, to install root 5.34, and root can successfully be launched from the terminal. I have set my environment variables using ehrice@Eris-LinuxMint / $ export ROOTSYS=/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/root5.34 ehrice@Eris-LinuxMint / $ export PATH=$ROOTSYS/bin:$PATH ehrice@Eris-LinuxMint / $ export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$ROOTSYS/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PAT. I am confident this is an easy fix, and apologies in advance, I’m an absolute noob with regards to the linux file system and have found it hard to find a definitive answer as to where root is installed.
I have tried building (making?) the lib directory but this yeilded no useful results, only make: *** No rule to make target 'win32api\winfunc.h', needed by '..\include\win32api.dll'. Stop.

You can locate root by the following:

root-config --prefix

or

which root

How are you compiling / interpreting your macros? Are you running them from the ROOT prompt, using a make file, or using cmake? Are you using gcc as a compiler? Without this information the following are just some possible routes.

You can use root-config to provide the include directories and libraries to the compiler

root-config --incdir --libs

ROOT provides a CMake package for getting the necessary libraries and include directories

find_package(ROOT)

If you are using gcc you can set the environment variables CPLUS_INCLUDE_PATH and LIBRARY_PATH. man gcc for more information.

Finally, why are you using the Windows win32api on a linux machine?

(PS. you can post code blocks here by using three back ticks to start the block and three to end the block.)