Extracting Root data from tuple

Hello, root users. I am a complete novice that is trying to extract data from the attached root file. I found a similar thread: How to extract a data from dna.root file? where the guy solved the question.

My data goes 1 more folder down and I just don’t know how to write the code to extract it. I tried it by editing the dump.cxx file but it’s not working. Thank you for help in advance!

dump.cxx (904 Bytes)AnaEx01.root (69.9 KB)

Hi,
I am not sure what you want to dump from this file, which contains 4 histograms and 2 ntuples. A simple python script to dump the contents can be the following:

from ROOT import TFile, TCanvas
f = TFile('AnaEx01.root')

# Get the histograms and draw them
histos = [f.Get('histo/%d'%(i+1)) for i in range(4)]
c = TCanvas()
c.Divide(2,2)
for i in range(4):
    c.cd(i+1)
    histos[i].Draw()
c.Draw()

# Get the tuples and print their contents
ntuples = [f.Get('ntuple/%d'%(i+101)) for i in range(2)]
for i in range(2):
    ntuple = ntuples[i]
    names = [b.GetName() for b in ntuple.GetListOfBranches()]
    print '--------NTuple %s------------------'% ntuple.GetName()
    for n in names : print n, 
    print ';'
    for e in ntuple:
        for n in names:
            print getattr(e,n),
        print ';'    

dump.cxx (1.46 KB)

1 Like

Thank you that totally worked but it didn’t quite do what I wanted. Basically I want to get the x-axis and y-axis data for ntuple 101 so I can recreate graph for example on excel based on data. Thanks for your helps!
dump.txt (74.5 KB)

[quote=“mato”]Hi,
I am not sure what you want to dump from this file, which contains 4 histograms and 2 ntuples. A simple python script to dump the contents can be the following:

[code]
from ROOT import TFile, TCanvas
f = TFile(‘AnaEx01.root’)

Get the histograms and draw them

histos = [f.Get(‘histo/%d’%(i+1)) for i in range(4)]
c = TCanvas()
c.Divide(2,2)
for i in range(4):
c.cd(i+1)
histos[i].Draw()
c.Draw()