Extract .root file problem

Hello,
I am trying to convert a .root file to a readable format (csv, json, txt) file. I followed the tutorial from root.cern.ch/drupal/content/how … jects-file.
However, I got the error messages - please find in the attachment. Please, suggest me how can I extract the file.
Briefly, I want to convert .root to txt or csv file.
Sorry if it’s a dummy question, I am totally new to this framework.

Thank you

Hi,

I guess that “Process()” method was a dummy method used in the example you linked. You have to replace it with the actual “processing” of the object, including the file writeout.

The best way to convert a ROOT generic object to a “readable format” depends on the object itself. Which kind of objects does CalibObjects.root contain? Could you give the command

after

and post the output here?

Here is the output of the command

Thanks!

Mmm… I hoped the output would be a list of objects I’m familiar with, like histograms or ntuples/trees :cry:

If you do not receive better answers, you can try to provide a copy of the file and I’ll have a look at it…

please… :cry:
drive.google.com/file/d/0B6fUiQ … sp=sharing

Some messages are missing Lost a forum day doesn’t matter here, we can resume the discussion.

pjenviri, you wrote that you want to port a ROOT application to something that do not use ROOT. This answers only part of the question “what are you trying to do”? :wink:

Now you have:

1. a ROOT file
  2. an application within ROOT
  3. some results

And you want to have
-1) a ROOT file
0) a ROOT-to-TXT converter

1. a TXT file
  2. an application outside ROOT (or without ROOT? That’s a different thing)
  3. the same results

My comments at this point: