Event class instantiation issue- cannot open include files

Hi All,
I am relatively new to ROOT, and seem to be having some issues relating to the ROOT filesystem setup. I am trying to create a data structure for anaylsing tests run on a pixel sensor chip, I am thinking each pixel could be represented by a branch, storing position and threshold data etc, but before I can work on this I am encountering a more fundamental issue, I cannot instnatiate an Event class. This is because my installation cannot find the /test folder in which the required header files are contained. I am using ROOT 5.34.36 on windows 7 64 bit, and have configured my Environment variables to include a $ROOTSYS. I am using the code below (as found in one of the tutorial macros) to call the include files (currently starting with $ROOTSYS, I have also tried the full address on disk to no avail).

#if defined(__CINT__) && !defined(__MAKECINT__)
#include "$ROOTSYS\test\libEvent.so"
#else
#include "$ROOTSYS\bin\Event.h"
#endif

Apologies if the solution is patently obvious, full code not included as Iā€™m 99% sure this is why my Event objects will not instantiate.

Thanks in advance and Regards

In your installation, what is the list of directories in $ROOTSYS?

My current ā€œVariable Valueā€ for ROOTSYS is C:\root_v5.34.36, it had previously been set to C:\root_v5.34.36\bin, with exactly the same errors resulting.

Fair enough and what is the content of the directory C:\root_v5.34.36 ?

Itā€™s just the standard installation directory, contains both the /bin and /test folders needed for those header files, as well as all macros and tutorials etcā€¦

Then:

#if defined(__CINT__) && !defined(__MAKECINT__)
#include "$ROOTSYS\test\libEvent.so"
#else
#include "$ROOTSYS\test\Event.h"
#endif

should work without problem

OK, glad Iā€™m not going completely mad! I set my $ROOTSYS just using windows advanced system settings, do I need to edit thisroot.bat to contain the path also?