Easiest way to go parallel? - TThread & PROOF

Hi all,

I’m trying to make my analysis code run on a multicore machine (specifically a new 2xquad at my Uni), and I’m trying to understand what the easiest way of doing this is. The time consuming part of my code mostly involves reading large trees (not chained) into histograms from tens of files (one tree per file). I’ve read the tutorials and example code and am still a bit confused.

1. Is there a big advantage of using PROOF over opening multiple TThreads? which is easiest to modify existing code to?

2. Is there any way for functions passed to TThread to return values (aside from using globals)? Is there a way to pass multiple arguments (without using dedicated structs)?

3. Can I use PROOF for a single TTree? that is, do gain any speed if each chain only contains one tree?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I’m a bit of a newbie at parallel.
Nati.

Easiest way w/o learning anything about parallel coding is to process each tree-file by a separate program-process w/o any threads and write resulting histograms into separate files. And then, at the end, have these histograms summed up by available in ROOT “hadd”. Of course histograms have to be identically produced by instances of the same program.

ardashev,

Thanks for the reply. That’s more or less what I’m doind now, but since I have to run this many times over (for different parameter sets) it’s not very efficient.

I’ve tried using TThreads (with the code below) but keep getting seg faults. Any ideas as to why?

[code]
void *process(void *ptr)

{

TFile *f = new TFile(filename);
TTree tree = (TTree)f->Get(“T”);
TH1F *hist = new TH1F(“hist”,“blah blah”,200,0.0,4.0);
int N = tree->GetEntries();
tree->SetBranchAddress(“R.gold.p”,&p);

for (int i=0; i < N; i++) {

tree->GetEvent(i);                  
  hist->Fill(p);  

}

gSystem->Sleep(10);

return 0;

}[/code]

Well, there are so many ways you can go wrong with threads…