Difficulty building ROOT - ubuntu 11.10

I’m trying to build Root 5.32.00 on ubuntu 11.10 64 bit. I’m an undergrad physics student and have only just installed ubuntu to use root in a research placement so I’m still trying to familiarise myself with the OS and a fair bit of ignorance can be assumed. I downloaded root from subversion - svn co root.cern.ch/svn/root/tags/v5-32-00 root-5.32.00 and sudo apt-get install-ed all of the packages I might need. After running ./configure everything seems to have been configured fine and the makefile is created.

Tom@ubuntu:~/v5-32-00$ ./configure linux --enable-minuit2 --enable-roofit --enable-table --enable-gdml --enable-pgsql --enable-mysql --enable-builtin-zlib --enable-builtin-pcre --enable-builtin-freetype --enable-builtin-glew Checking for source directory ... /home/Tom/v5-32-00 Configuring for linux INFO: --enable-pgsql: already enabled by default. INFO: --enable-mysql: already enabled by default. Checking for GNU Make version >= 3.80 ... ok Checking for C compiler ... gcc Checking for C++ compiler ... g++ Checking for linker (LD) ... g++ Checking for F77 compiler ... gfortran Checking for libX11 ... /usr/lib Checking for X11/Xlib.h ... /usr/include Checking for X11/xpm.h ... /usr/include Checking for X11/Xft/Xft.h ... /usr/include Checking for X11/extensions/shape.h ... /usr/include Checking for libXpm ... /usr/lib Checking for libXft ... /usr/lib Checking for libXext ... /usr/lib
etc…

Building Root then gives me this error:

[code]Enabled support for asimage, astiff, builtin_afterimage, builtin_freetype, builtin_pcre, builtin_zlib, builtin_lzma, cintex, exceptions, explicitlink, gdml, genvector, memstat, minuit2, reflex, roofit, shadowpw, shared, table, tmva, x11, xft.

To build ROOT type:

make

Tom@ubuntu:~/v5-32-00$ make